Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Young couple kissingThe New York Times wrote an interesting article on what a kiss symbolizes. It states from their research that people who believe they’re good looking & those only interested in casual sex, state kisses are only important in the beginning. Importance declines during sex & even less after sex & beyond. Whereas monogamous people value a kiss not important in the beginning, but more important down the road.

I’d have to agree somewhere along the lines with both. If a man is not a good kisser in the beginning there’s no way I could date him. I remember a crush I had on a boy during middle school. I was googly eyed for him for a year. Finally he kissed me & it was the most disgusting thing I’ve ever experienced. I still remember my face being slobbered all over down to my chin. Maybe it was his inexperience as we were just teenagers, however he never became my boyfriend.

In the aspect of longterm relationships I believe kissing is very important. When I was married my husband kissed me goodbye every morning as he left for work. These pecks were not of a sexual nature but more of a symbol of where we were at in our relationship. I remember when those morning kisses stopped and I knew our relationship was crumbling. When the intimacy died; holding hands, cuddling, sitting next to each other on the couch & kissing, it was over and soon he became my ex husband.

I believe kissing is an important aspect throughout the entire relationship from beginning, middle and end. If you’re not kissing your partner, then it’s more like being best buddies. So remember to kiss your loved one everyday to show them how much you care.

Read the full article here.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is a Certified Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and Radio Show Host.