Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

twineApparently this is an app for flirting. It claims to be a mobile wingman. Twine says it connects you with people nearby that share similar interests with you, and gives you interesting things to talk about. The app is free. You download it from iTunes & link your Facebook account.  It populates your profile picture, likes, interests & hobbies. However, I do not have all my likes and dislikes on my Facebook profile, so that feature is somewhat limited.

When you open the app it asks you to find a new twine. After clicking the button it searches for someone close in your area through (I’m assuming) the GPS coordinates on your phone. Since I was testing this out while I was staying in Treasure Island, FL yet I live in Palm Harbor, but it populated Treasure Island as my nearby point of reference.

It then finds a “twine” for you & opens up a chat window to exchange messages or flirt. The only thing is when you click on the person’s profile you’ve matched with, their photo is blurred? I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to flirt with someone unless I know what they look like. It seems these so called dating apps are revealing less and less information about a person. I don’t see how this is a good thing? It really makes the process more difficult. If I’m not even physically attracted to you and don’t  know how old you are, then there’s no way in hell I’m going to flirt with you. I’m sorry but that’s attraction 101. It would be nice to think we’re fascinated by people on common Interest alone, but that’s not reality. But in order to be in a relationship there has to be a physical interest as well.

You can flirt with a blurry photo or you can ask them to reveal themselves. If they choose to reveal their identity, their picture becomes clear along with their first name. That’s about all the information you have other than their hobbies. Twine says this is the benefit of their app that it keeps you anonymous. Isn’t it kind of hard to get to know an anonymous person? That just creeps me out talking to someone that you can’t even see who they are.

The reviews within iTunes on this app is about 2.5 out of 5 stars. I would probably give it a 1.5, I want to know more about someone before I decide to meet them in person or talk to them. That’s the whole weeding out process online. The more “in person” weeding out takes a lot more time out of your day, which we keep getting less and less of. Let’s make it easier, not harder to date. This method is like picking a person out of a line up while blind folded and hoping they are the one for you.


062_Richter_Tara_8-21-13 72 DPI  

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.