Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

bachelorette-season-9-finale-desiree-hartsock-chrisAs America watched the season finale of The Bachelorette last Monday night and we were all baffled at her quick turn around time from having her heart broken to becoming engaged to Chris. I listened to Des & Chris being interviewed on Ryan Seacrest’s radio show yesterday & his co-host really dug into how she could flip her feelings back & forth so quickly. I could hear the pain within Desiree’s voice as she answered the question. I’m sure she’s had to explain herself many times over now throughout various media outlets.

I think we all need to give Des a break. Ok while we are sitting on our couch with our glass of wine and box of kleenex feeling her pain of rejection from Brooks one minute then seeing her accept Chris’ ring the next makes us wonder if it’s true. Well the fact of it is, in real time she didn’t make up her mind within 30 minutes. We are seeing a condensed version of what really happened. However, there were days and weeks in-between one indecent and the other happening.

Plus what else is she supposed to do? Be heartbroken for the rest of her life because one guy she feel in love with didn’t love her back? This happens everyday in real life, we love someone and they do not return our love. We can sit picking up the pieces for years and feel sorry for ourselves, or we can heal ourselves in quick time frame and move on.

She was lucky enough to have 2 other guys in love with her that she had to re-evaluate her situation and her feelings for. It’s a smart decision to refocus her energy on who does love her. Sometimes we stand looking at the door that was shut on us and forget to look to the future and the new opportunities ahead of us. There’s nothing wrong with this. The last time I had my heart broken I wish I had 2 other guys waiting for me to tell me what a wonderful human being I was & wanted me to be happy. I would have gotten over my heartbreak a whole lot faster. I’m not saying to jump into one relationship right after another but have an open mind to other opportunities and not drowning in your sorrow. Heal your wounds and move on.

Read my 3rd Book “5 Steps to Heal a Broken Heart” to quickly heal your wounds and move on to find someone who truly does love you for you.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.