Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

LuluWhile watching E! last night, they discussed this new app called Lulu for women  to rate their ex-boyfriends and to find out about potential dates. I immediately downloaded it to see what the fuss was about.

It makes you sign in with Facebook which I don’t really like. Why do all new apps and programs make you sign in with Facebook? If you don’t have a FB account you can’t do hardly anything anymore. Anyway, so reluctantly I let them access my Facebook page. It then populated all the men who are my FB friends onto a scrolling wall. Then other random guys showed up here and there. It allows you to rate guys and put comments good or bad on them anonymously.

The app is a good idea and I understand the concept, the few things I do not like about it is that I can only see guys that are my FB friend list. Um ok… well if they’re on my list I already know about them! I don’t add random weirdos, not often anyway. If you try to search a guys name it wont pull up unless, you guessed it, they’re on Facebook! Really irritating.

If I’m looking to find dirt on a potential date he’s not going to be on any of my social media sites. So basically I can’t find him on their app. The other thing is even when you do write and review comments it’s all by hash tag. I don’t get this? Why hash tags? Does that make their profile pull up in twitter? So example for one man’s review would look like this:

#MeanToMyDog, #KinkyInTheRightWays, #Rebel,#RespectsWomen, #GlassHalfFull, #OneWomanMan, #MothersLoveHim, #WritesLoveSongs, #WillSeeRomComs, #MakesMeLaugh, #SweetThreads, #CleansUpGood, #OpensDoors, #CheaperThanABigMac,#FriendZone, #Mama’sBoy, #NoGoals, #NoComment, #DrinksTheHaterade, #ManChild, #JustFriends, #ADD, #SketchyCallLog, #PerfectForMySister, #StillLovesHisEx

I don’t know call me old fashioned, but I think that’s just too damn hard to read! Then apparently you can add guys from your email or some other stuff, but then they have to create a profile. Why would they want to do that and subject themselves to scrutiny?

I really don’t get what all the hype is about in regards to this. If I could search potential dates that were NOT in my Facebook contacts then it would be kinda cool. Oh I forgot to say if I add girlfriends on the app, their guy FB friends get populated into my feed as well. Yet if I was going to go out on a date with a girlfriends friend, I would just ask her about him. So with that being said and the fact I can’t read the comments well, my review of Lulu is #epic-fail.

Tara Richter
Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.