Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A graphic representation of fish as businessmen eyeing a dollar-sign baitPOF.com has local events to get singles out from behind their laptops to meet in the flesh. I like the concept, so I thought I would check one out to review for my second book, “10 Rules to Survive the Internet Dating Jungle”. My roommate went with me who is divorced and 50 years old. This event was held at a bar in a hotel on the water in Tarpon Springs. We signed in, got a name tag and the place was packed, good sign. Unfortunately, I was the youngest person there by oh 20 years, bad sign. There was no age limit on the event and I don’t know if it’s the venue or the area that pulls a much older crowd, yet it definitely wasn’t my cup of tea.

Everyone seemed to be having a good time, which is great. However, I’m 35 so my demographic was not at that event. Since I knew I wasn’t looking for a boyfriend in their 60’s, I decided to have one drink and call it a night. I wanted to make sure my roommate had a ride home, so as I finished my wine waiting for her friends to show up, I had various offers from men.  One of which was to leave the event and go eat some of his homemade chili.  I politely declined. Finally her friends came and I left. As I was in the parking lot heading to my car, a man that could have been my grandpa asked me why I was leaving so soon. Hmmm how do I nicely reply, “I don’t want to date anyone who is collecting social security?”

The next day my roommate said she had a great time.  Nonetheless, I don’t think I will attend another one of POF’s events. It wasn’t the caliber of men I am interested in, it was more like a Wal-Mart crowd. The only very few younger ones more or less looked like the guys I would block from the website. My conclusion is that if you’re 50 or older it may be fun. Or of it was held in a younger crowd venue then younger people will show up? I’m not sure, though I think I’ll just stick to meeting the men online.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.