Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When initiating contact to persons within online dating sites, do not include your phone number in that first email. It’s really weird to open an email from a complete stranger you have never had a conversation with and they are willing to put their cell number out there. It screams desperate. How many other people have you thrown your number to? You wouldn’t even know who it is calling you. You don’t know my name, I barely know yours and you want to get random texts and phone call from a women who could be crazy?

Your phone number is sacred. Only give it out to someone after you’ve had some time to chat over email. Find out if you even like talking to that person. Then take it offline and either text or call. I’m very selective who I give my number to. From a 100 emails only 3 will receive it. It’s not easy changing your number. I know At&t wants $50 to issue you a new one.

Sending everyone your cell in a first email is like throwing mud at the wall and seeing where it sticks. Not very romantic on the receiving end. It also makes me think how many other people have you sent it to? Was I number 10 or 50 on your list?

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.