Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

While venturing out in the dating jungle, a good way to meet new people is by practicing random acts of kindness. Try to do one every day. For instance tonight I was at a Starbucks out of town getting some writing done on my second book. As I was writing away a lady asked to sit across from me at the new long tables they have in the coffee shops. (I really like these tables because when a bunch of random people sit next to one another, it encourages conversation.) I was typing away and in my own little world when every now and then I saw her flip a big white sketch pad around. I couldn’t really see what she was doing over my laptop. Finally my curiosity got the best of me and I closed my laptop to see better and I saw a beautiful pencil sketch she was working on. It was truly fascinating.

I complimented her on her work and she was flattered. It sparked conversation and I showed her my book and the artwork I did for the cover. We chit chatted for a while as we created our own master pieces.  I eventually found out she was visiting her bother that lives locally and her mother is in the dating jungle and said she needs my books. I offered her to buy the one I had on me, but she wanted to bring her mother out to meet me at my book signing this Saturday Nov. 10th. I’m now flattered that she wants to bring her mother all the way over to the Ritz to meet me and buy my book.

It all just started from a simple compliment. One small nice gesture can blossom into all kinds of good things. Who knows? Maybe her brothers cute, maybe he’s not, but the point is the more new people you meet the more chances you have of possibly meeting someone for you. No one can ever have too many friends or too many connections.

Try doing one random act of kindness everyday. When you see someone that is wearing an outfit you like or whatever give them a compliment. Say, “I love that shirt you’re wearing!” You’ll make their day and that will make you happy inside to spread the love. What you put out in the world comes back to you 10 times fold. Make sure it’s good vibes your placing out there in the universe.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.