Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the reasons I love writing is because of the subtle power of words. Simple letters placed on a piece of paper or spoken can have such a great impact. Words can start wars or they can create peace. They can build someone up or tear them down. It can make someone fall in love or break their heart. Words can make you believe in yourself or slice through your flesh like mini razor blades.

We all need to be very conscious of what we say and who we say it to. You may not even realize the words that come out of your mouth will have a great impact on the person who hears it, but it does. It doesn’t matter how young or old you are, words still hurt. Usually the older we get the more we understand that what another person says is more or less a reflection of themselves. That they may say something ill-hearted because they are just un-happy with themselves.

In regards to children we all need to be extra cautious what we say around them because their minds are so impressionable. I can remember certain things that were said to me at a very young age which changed me for the rest of my life. A woman who I don’t recall laughed at me when I told my childhood dream in front of a group of people of becoming an author. That single act right there instilled doubt within myself that I could never be successful at my dreams. My father always got me about exercising and eating healthy because I was tall and bigger than other kids my age. Well it wasn’t my fault that I was 5ft 5inches tall in 6th grade. His words made me self conscious and spun me into bouts of anorexia and bulimia throughout my entire life.

Words can be deadly weapons. Please use them wisely when speaking with anyone. Use words for good to help, inspire and uplift people. Like they say, if you don’t have anything nice to say, then don’t say anything at all.

Another great article on Dangerous Words

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.