Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We all have disagreements and arguments, people’s feeling gets hurt. Sometimes we say things we don’t mean or act in a way that even shocks ourselves when we look back at it. It’s ok no one’s perfect. Though, the thing that breaks down relationships and puts a wedge between two people is our egos.

Sometimes the only thing the other person is waiting to hear you say is, “I’m sorry”.

I don’t know why this is so hard to do? Man up, own your actions. If someone tells you that what you did hurt their feelings, put your ego aside and just utter those two small words. Some people would rather sacrifice a relationship rather than say this. It just amazes me how far people will go just to be right. Where is that attitude going to get you? Alone, single and miserable.

Nobody wants to hang out with someone, date them or be married to someone who can’t admit their faults. I’ll be the first one to stand up and say I’m not perfect, I fucked up, I’m sorry. If I did something wrong or hurt someone. You may not even know what you did in fact hurt the person you love. Though, if they tell you it hurt them, own it. You cannot tell another person how or what to feel.

If you could practice saying to your loved one “I’m sorry”, fights would actually result in growth and bonds would grow stronger. Instead everyone just wants to be right or stubborn and the relationship crumbles. So today I want everyone to practice putting their ego aside. Just do it once and see how it feels. Let someone else be right for a change, apologize if you did something wrong and see how it makes you feel. I can guarantee it’s going to make the other person feel good and that should warm your heart.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.