Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Just like in dancing it takes two to tango in a relationship. If you find you’re the one always putting forth the effort, calling, texting, making plans and going to their house…stop. There are two people in a relationship, it cannot be one sided. Set your boundaries and see if they meet you half way. If they don’t make the effort, move on. Be with someone who wants to be with you and respects you.

Everyone is busy in life, respecting your significant others time is crucial. If you’re always bending and twisting your schedule to meet theirs it’s not fair and disrespectful. Sure some things come up and we need to be flexible, but look at who’s always moving things around to make it work. Is it you or them? This should be a two way street. If it’s all about them, that’s a red flag. It definitely won’t change.

Most people are on their best behavior in the honeymoon stages of a relationship. That’s why we should never rush into anything. True colors will always shine given enough time. Once they do, don’t ignore them. For example I’ve been dating someone for a month where I always go to his house on his schedule. He has never been to my place and doesn’t even know where I live. I’m setting my boundaries and if he wants to see me he’s going to have to meet me at my place. So far it’s been almost a week since I’ve seen him. He’s definitely not meeting me halfway or anywhere in between for that matter.

As Fergie sings in the Black Eyed Peas Song “Meet Me Halfway”:

Can you meet me halfway, right at the borderline?
That’s where I’m gonna wait for you
I’ll be lookin’ out night and day
Took my heart to the limit, and this is where I stay

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.