Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I got free tickets to see the premier of the movie “For a Good Time Call”. So I took one of my girlfriends last night to see it. The movie stars Ari Graynor and Lauren Miller as two broke girls down on their luck that start a phone sex line from Katie’s deceased grandmother’s apartment in New York City to pay the bills.

It’s definitely a funny movie and worth a trip out to see it with a group of girlfriends. Really represents this day and age where “real” jobs are tough to come by and sometimes you to have to be creative in order to get by. It obviously has raunchy parts since it’s about phone sex. I myself have not had phone sex, so I can’t really compare or analyze that part of the movie.

I’ve never really understood how people can get off over the phone? Personally I need more than just hearing someone’s voice to get my engines going. Though everyone’s different and I know sex lines are a big business along with girls on video chat.

So then this raises an interesting question, which they did not bring up in the movie, yet it got me thinking. If a man is married and he calls up 1-888-mmhmm and has phone sex, is that considered cheating? He just shared an intimate moment with another woman, yet there was no exchange of body fluids. Is it harmless or would you be upset if you caught your husband masturbating on the phone? Or would it be a relief because you’re just too damn tired after working, chasing the kids and cleaning the house all day long? Would it be a more acceptable form of cheating since you’re really not with the woman?

Getting back to the move, I would recommend going see it as long as you’re not offended by seeing lots of dildos and hearing lots of sex talk. The end got a little strange as their friendship took a weird sort of lesbian twist. I know it was supposed to be funny, but I think it went a little overboard. Once you see it you’ll understand. I mean I care about my girlfriends, but not as much as they portrayed it. I’ve never declared my love for a girlfriend in a way that you would with a boyfriend.

I would overall give the movie a 4 out of 5 stars. There were definitely some good laugh out loud moments. Justin Long plays an excellent flamboyant gay friend and Seth Rogan has a funny cameo.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.