Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The reason why I wrote my book and blog about my dating rules is because they work. I’ve been following my rules for over a year now and it has lead me to some great guys.  Though, in some rare occasions there comes a long a guy who makes you want to break all your rules.

I ventured out on a blind date to Ybor City that was arranged by a mutual friend. I don’t know if it was the drag queen bingo, his sultry voice (he sounds just like Jeremy Sisto from Six Feet Under), or the karaoke serenade at the end of the night. Something about him made me want to throw all my rules out the window, which I did. All but one cardinal rule, one that no woman should ever break on a first date. Never go home with the guy, ever. If you want it to pursue into something more, otherwise your number will be programmed in for future booty calls.

Drinks on the first date, check. Dinner on the first night, check. Holding hands at the dinner table, check. Watching men dressed as woman call out bingo numbers in sexual terms, check. Pretty much everything I said not to do, I just did. Bad dating coach. Though, I do believe that if you feel a connection there’s no reason not to.

The rules are there to help weed out the ones you’re not interested in. Obviously don’t go out on an all-night date with drinks if you’re just feeling so so about someone. Definitely cut it short if you’re not feeling the vibe. If there’s a connection go with the flow and see where it takes you. You might end up somewhere great.

Tara Richter

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.