Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When is it ok to pursue someone? When is someone off the market? Once they’re engaged, living together, married or just BF/GF? Once you’re an adult, when is a potential lover unavailable to meet new people? I’ve encountered a couple of guys while I was out with friends who I chatted with and they were totally open about having a girlfriend. This was refreshing for once, since honesty is so rare now days. Though, once I backed off and said, “Ok I get it never mind,” then they looked perplexed as to why. One guy stated that they had been dating for 6 months, but it wasn’t serious. So does that mean he’s available to date other people? How would his girlfriend feel about that? Not really sure. I wasn’t really sure how I felt about it either. When are you off the market to date other people? Do you wait for the monogamous “talk” or do you wait for the ring? I always believed that once I started dating someone, I was only going to date that one person. Though, the guy would be out dating others. Are we as women more programmed to assume monogamy as soon as we like a guy and they are programmed to spread their oats? Is all fair in love and war until you sign that legal document?

 

Tara Richter is an Internet Dating Coach in Tampa Bay. She is the author of “The Dating Jungle Series” and an Internet TV Show Host.